Board of Trustees

Johnson C. Smith University Board of Trustees
Executive Committee 2022-2023

Steven L. Boyd, Chair
Kieth Cockrell, Vice Chair
Christy Bryant, Secretary
Michael Jones, Finance and Audit

Resources to the Board of Trustees

President Armbrister Headshot

Clarence D. Armbrister, J.D.

Teare M. Brewington

Teare Brewington

Chief Financial Officer
Mr. William P. Farthing Jr.

Mr. William P. Farthing Jr.

University Counsel


Trustee Steven L. Boyd '79

Trustee Steven L. Boyd '79 - Chair

The Coca-Cola Company Vice President – Sales (Retired)
Trustee R. Sheila Brown, D.D.S. '77

Trustee R. Sheila Brown, D.D.S. '77

S.R.B. Dental, P.C.
Trustee Christy S. Bryant ‘75

Trustee Christy S. Bryant ‘75 – Secretary

Vice President - Corporate Credit, Commercial Regulatory Capital Oversight at Wells Fargo
Kieth Cockrell

Trustee Kieth Cockrell - Vice Chair

Bank of America President of Bank of America Charlotte Head of Executive Escalations, and Sports Sponsorship
 Janice Dupré

Trustee Janice Dupré

Lowe’s Companies, Inc. Executive Vice President, Human Resources
Ric Elias

Trustee Ric Elias

Red Ventures Co-Founder and CEO
James Ely III ‘88

Trustee James Ely III ‘88

Johnson and Johnson Consumer Health Managing Director, Zarbee’s Inc.
Trustee Ralph H. Groce III

Trustee Ralph Groce III

Bank of New York Mellon Managing Director/Chief Information Officer for Issuer Services
Trustee Michael Jones

Trustee Michael Jones – Finance and audit

Jones Holding Corporation, LLC Chief Merchandising Officer
Valerie Kinloch PhD ‘96

Trustee Valerie Kinloch PhD ‘96

University of Pittsburgh Dean of the School of Education

Trustee Michael Lamach

Trane Technologies Executive Chair and Chief Executive Officer (Retired)
Trustee Michelle Y. Lee

Trustee Michelle Y. Lee

Wells Fargo Bank, N.A. Regional Banking Executive Eastern Region
Trustee Patricia R. Morton

Patricia R. Morton

PRM Advisors, LLC Founder and CEO
Eugene Woods

Eugene Woods

President and CEO, Atrium Health

Trustees Emeriti


Mr. Thomas E. Baldwin, Chair Emeritus

Ms. Peggy Culbertson

Mrs. Mattie S. Grigsby

Dr. Argie Knox Johnson

Mr. Pettis Norman

Mr. Gregory Norwood

Dr. Douglas M. Orr Jr.

Dr. Clarence W. R. Wade, Chair Emeritus