Subscribe to our RSS Feed

Johnson C. Smith University Arch of Triumph Gala Honors Four Icons

2013 Photos

Charlotte, N.C. (April 22, 2013) – Johnson C. Smith University presented the Arch of Triumph award to four icons who have made great strides in the areas of civil rights, education, entertainment, philanthropy and healthcare. The awards were presented during the University’s fifth annual Arch of Triumph Gala on April 20.

More than 900 attendees packed the Charlotte Convention Center for the celebration honoring John Lewis, U.S. Representative for Georgia's 5th Congressional District; Sheryl Underwood, comedienne, actress and philanthropist; Johnson C. Smith University alumni Eva Green Donaldson, ’48, retired educator, and Melvin T. Pinn Jr., M.D., ’70, senior medical director of Virginia Commonwealth University Health System.

The signature black tie event marked the University’s 146th Founders’ Week. The gala annually recognizes those who have supported the University’s JCSU Fund which provides financial support for scholarships, teaching and learning initiatives. Wells Fargo, Carolina HealthCare Systems and Synders-Lance Inc. served as presenting sponsors.

Founded in 1867, Johnson C. Smith University is an independent, close-knit urban university located in Charlotte, N.C. It has a growing national reputation for integrating the liberal arts with business, the sciences and technology in ways that empower tomorrow’s diverse entrepreneurial citizens and leaders. Offering 23 fields of study to more than 1,600 students from a variety of ethnic, socioeconomic and geographic backgrounds, the university’s excellent academic programs focus on servant leadership, civic engagement and global responsibility. For more information about JCSU, visit or follow the university on social media sites Facebook , Twitter, YouTube, LinkedIn and

Return to Latest News